Ingleby Barwick Town Council

Ingleby Barwick Coat of Arms

Ingleby Barwick Coat of Arms Source: Ingleby Barwick Town Council Reproduced under the “Fair Dealing” exemption to copyright as per

Ingleby Barwick Town Council has twelve Councillors who are elected to serve our community. They employ one member of staff who is responsible for all administration matters related to the town council.

Ingleby Barwick Town Council was formed on 2nd February 1990, with the first meeting held on 15th February 1990. The town council receive a parish precept from the council tax collected in Ingleby Barwick which is then invested in the community.

The town council were granted a coat of arms in 2000, which contain a representation of the three rivers that run around Ingleby Barwick. i.e. River Leven, River Tees and Bassleton Beck. It also depicts mill-rinds which are an historical link to the Turner family, who used to own the land which now forms Ingleby Barwick.

The crest shows a Teal bird which is an allusion to a horse from Ingleby Barwick which won the Grand National.